Resume Rebuttal

Another take on resumes.

SmarttChick

dog-walker2I get to look at a lot of resumes over the course of a week in my job. It’s always interesting, sometimes entertaining and occasionally noteworthy; but not for the grand skill and expertise of the person submitting the resume. Usually these instances are noteworthy for the grand scale of some faux pas.

A few weeks ago I had a flurry of resumes submitted in response to an ad I had placed for Veterinary Receptionists*. The ad specifically stated that I was only looking for people who were  “…currently working as a Veterinary Receptionist”. I received the usual assortment of WalMart , McDonald’s, Home Depot and other employees who must be desperate for something different, or at least it seems so from the rate at which I see applications from these folks, applying for jobs where there is no obvious “fit” in skills, experience or education. I also got a number of “close, but no cigar” candidates. It…

View original post 523 more words

Leave a Reply

