Too Many Jobs

SmarttChick

hundredsA few years back, right after the impact of the 2008 economic disaster began to manifest as pay freezes and layoffs, I was working a full time job that wasn’t paying my bills. I was teaching at a university and had good benefits, but for all the awe and respect that the title “Professor” engenders outside of academia, I was in dire straits. I had student loans commensurate with the advanced degrees that I possess but was making the same amount of money that my 22 year old undergraduates were commanding in jobs they were hired into at graduation. I wasn’t very happy about this – in fact, I was downright mad each month as I juggled and fudged and stressed to pay the bills in my single – parent household.

I’m one of those people who can’t resist talking to folks working in the mall, or at the pizza…

View original post 1,216 more words

Leave a Reply

