My New Make-Up Routine

I have been looking to stretch my chops as a writer (as if writing toward a dissertation is not enough!) and was fortunate enough to find a START-UP in Pittsburgh that was looking for writers with a love for and knowledge in cosmetics, and with an appealing style, or ‘voice’. I contacted them; we met, and it’s now official – yay!

Lips
Wait a minute – I thought you were a health care, errr – education,. . . how does this fit?

In the mid-1990’s when I found myself a single mom with 2 elementary-aged kids, and in need of a job that would work around school (I was trying to complete my undergraduate degree), while leaving me SOME time to attend ball games, meet-the-teacher nights, and kids band/choral concerts, I found a job at a local department store selling prestige cosmetics. Unbeknownst to most people outside of my family, I went to Cosmetology School (long time ago) during a phase of “I want out of health care; I want a fun job where people are HAPPY to see you”. Interestingly, while doing hair for a VERY short period of time, I think I met more miserable people than I did when I entered patient rooms with a sharp needle, but that’s a blog for another day.

The cosmetics gig was wonderful. I had a knack for sales, and made good commissions, even earning some district recognition for sales volume, which was something when you consider that I was a part time employee. More importantly, it was an area I absolutely LOVED!
Mascaras

From the time I was a little girl, I have been fascinated with all things perfume and makeup. We lived in the heart of rural America and my mother loved (and still loves) Avon products and the Avon lady loved her. Every couple of weeks, the lady (who I remember as somewhat of a crank with no patience for small children with curious noses and too many fingers,…) would show up with a small briefcase filled with the most fascinating containers and baubles. I was enchanted, and hooked for life.

These days, Ulta and Sephora stores are just large versions of those visits for me and I regularly stimulate the economy by shopping there. I confess that I am one of those women who will not go out of the house without a full face of makeup (I don’t wear sweat pants in public either, except at the gym) and I’m more than literate in the latest skin care science, makeup trends and fashion-for-the-face, which is not bad for a frazzled executive, doctoral student and grandmother!

Anyway, I’m thrilled to be a part of the writing team for FutureDerm, and encourage you to check them out while you’re reading my beauty blogs, of course. My first one appears here (bio and byline coming soon). Watch for me twice a month and if you’re looking for a gentler Retinol answer to aging skin,… FutureDerm has the product for you!

2 thoughts on “My New Make-Up Routine

  1. […] My New Make-Up Routine (specfictionwriter.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Regular readers know that I landed this awesome gig blogging about all things makeup, skincare and beauty (otherwise known as Nirvana for girls like me) which I highlighted in my earlier post, My New Makeup Routine. […]

Leave a Reply

