Manifesting Money – it’s simpler than you might think

I started this topic back in mid-October. I decided to return to it in the New Year to take a break from the painful task of writing about our family’s grief. I hope you find something useful to take away from this piece.
~
This time of year as we recuperate from the holiday splurges and begin to think about tax time looming just a couple months away, our minds often turn to money, or rather the lack of it. I have been reading and studying various angles of the Law of Attraction for many years, and found that, like Louise Hay says, these principles are indeed simple, but the process of following them is not always easy – mostly because our own limiting thoughts/beliefs get in the way of our success.

Several years ago I found myself in a job that paid poorly for my skill and education level, and that I wasn’t crazy about, but that had a flexibility which made it hard to leave. I decided at that time to manifest more money, thinking that would help my perspective (having a miserable job is bad enough – having a miserable job and living paycheck to paycheck – even worse).

I had read a number of the most touted books on the topic, including Wallace Wattles “The Science of Getting Rich” and Napoleon Hill’s “Think and Grow Rich” and scoured the web for all manner of content on the subject; some good – others junk.

I remember the transition in my thinking as I pondered these concepts, as I am very much rooted in more traditional scientific principles, so these concepts were initially airy-fairy to me and seemed to be wishful thinking at best, and pure snake oil at worst. But as I mentioned – I was at a point in my life where I needed an intervention, and the Law of Attraction, and specifically manifestation; became that intervention.

I was walking across the college campus where I was attending doctoral classes when I first realized the literal nature of manifesting. I had focused that day on finding some money and had declared that as I walked across campus toward my evening class that I would come across money and that it would be paper money, and not a discarded coin.

My jaunt from the parking garage across the college lawn had turned up no money and I was beginning to slide into that feeling of foolishness when my thoughts were interrupted by a young woman’s voice: “care to donate to kids for cancer?”

There before me on the lawn in front of the main building was a college student with a large plastic, beer-swizzling cup packed full of $1 and $5 bills. After adding to the cup I went on my way, laughing at the literal interpretation of my manifestation that had occurred. I did indeed “find some money” and it was most certainly on my walk across the campus and it was even “paper money”. I forgot to include the stipulation that it was money I could keep.

Lesson learned. Since then I have heard from many teachers on the principles of the Law of Attraction, like Gregg Braden who says that the matrix is literal. I made a mental note to work on specificity and went on my way.

I continued to study and read everything I could get my hands on relating to manifestation and the Law of Attraction and finally felt that I was ready to work on manifesting some serious money. The trick to successful manifestation, as I have found, is to start with manifesting things you can believe are achievable. If you decide you want to manifest $500,000 but you have no idea how you can do that, and there’s nagging doubt in the back of your mind that you can get that amount of money, you’ll never do it. It’s like riding a bike. We don’t put our kids on a 10-speed mountain/racing bike as their first bicycle and say, “you can do it!”. We start them off with a tricycle, then a small two-wheeler with training wheels, then a two-wheeler that fits them, and by the time their legs are long enough to manage the 10-speed mountain bike, they know they can do it because they have conquered the tasks in smaller, more manageable vehicles.

The principles of manifesting are similar. While there are those who can conjure large sums of money their first time out, as there are no doubt kids who have never ridden a bike who get on a 10-speed mountain bike and take off like a pro, most of us need to progress through stages that give us confidence that we are capable of riding that bike, or manifesting money. Bob Doyle, in the hit movie The Secret recommended starting really small: “set your intention for a cup of coffee”.

I had money enough to buy coffee – I wanted to manifest some serious greenbacks, so I set my goal on an amount that I knew was within the realm of achievable for me (in other words, I believed it was possible), but was large enough to be intentional, and not a windfall that I would have gotten anyway (a rebate on something purchased, a refund that I had forgotten about, etc.). I selected the amount of $2,500.

There are a number of techniques recommended for manifestation. The only “rule” I mention is that it should involve something that is personal to you; tp work, this process must be yours. Jack Canfield talks about putting the image of a $100,000 bill on his ceiling so that when he went to sleep at night and woke up in the morning, he saw it. I chose to write myself a check, for the amount of $2,500. I placed it into a dresser that had belonged to my grandmother – a fixture from my childhood. Then, I set out to intentionally not think about, or “worry” where the money would come from. Each time I thought about the check, I would say “thank you for the $2,500!” as if I had already received it, and then busy myself with other things.

Several months later, I had largely forgotten the check when I received a call from a college looking for someone with my credentials to teach part time in an online program. It was a good fit for me time-wise and skill-wise so I said yes, and soon I was teaching from the comforts of my own home.

Several months later I was cleaning out old clothes and putting laundry away and I came across that check. I had forgotten it until that moment, then I realized that by teaching 2 short classes (each class lasted 6 weeks), I earned the $2,500 I had written on that check, so in fact, I had manifested that $2,500 several times over!

I was almost giddy – I had done it! I had manifested the acquisition of this money. This college found me; I had no idea who they were prior to their call, and did not have my resume out on a job board. I was ecstatic and ready for more. I turned that check over, and endorsed the back of it with ‘Thank You!’ and waited for the next new Moon (in my family and going back several generations, you plant, get haircuts, and make big decisions based on the lunar cycle – that’s another post, but just so you understand the reference)

The new Moon arrived so I wrote myself another check – this time for $10,000. Now, prior to manifesting the $2,500 I would not have been able to believe that I could manifest $10,000 but I was so thrilled with the way my $2,500 manifestation worked out that I was ready and open to it coming from places I could not imagine.

Less than a month after I wrote the $10,000 check, again placing it in grandma’s dresser, I received a call from a former employer. They were in need of some consulting services in an area in which I have expertise and experience. While they did not write me a check for $10,000 right then, at the end of that year (< 6 months later) I received 1099’s from them indicating that I had earned $11,067.00 from the consulting work. Needless to say, I was ecstatic – again, I had not reached out to them; I had no idea they had written a grant that pertained to an area that matched my skill set.

You know what I did next, … right?

I wrote a check to myself for a six-digit figure and put it back in grandma’s dresser. In the meantime I had manifested a better job that paid more (though not six-digits), and in which I was able to work from home with minimal travel. I had forgotten my check and was clicking along nicely in my new job when I got a text message from my supervisor.

“What would you think about talking to Joe about a strategy position? He’s interested in your skill set.”

Gee, I thought – I was really getting used to working from home in my sweat pants and flip-flops; I was flattered, but not sure what all this new position might entail.

I went ahead and interviewed with Joe and we really hit it off. He called a week later and offered me the position – a promotion with a very nice raise and not much additional travel. The most interesting detail of the job offer however; was that his salary offer was, to the penny, the amount I had written my check for just a few months before.

I’m sure I don’t have to tell you what I did next.

~

If you’ve manifested money in a similar fashion I’d love to hear from you. If you are trying to manifest money but are not finding success, I’d also like to hear from you (maybe I can help – sometimes a new perspective is all you need).

In the meantime, check out these resources for learning more about the Law of Attraction:

I wish you all happiness, peace and prosperity!

One thought on “Manifesting Money – it’s simpler than you might think

  1. tey says:

    your story made me smile all day. Thank you

Leave a Reply

